Back to Back – Klemke wins Jim Quinn Medal

Daily Advertiser – Matt Malone


COLLINGULLIE-Glenfield Park midfielder Jayden Klemke confirmed his status as the competition’s best player with back-to-back Jim Quinn Medal wins on Tuesday night.


Klemke capped off another stunning season with his second Jim Quinn Medal at Narrandera Ex-Servicemen’s Club.


Klemke, 22, polled 25 votes to post a comfortable six-vote win. Coolamon young gun Luke Redfern (19 votes) and Wagga Tigers’ speedster Campbell Lovell (18 votes) rounded out the top three. Griffith assistant coach Will Griggs, who was ineligible due to suspension, was next on 17 votes.


Klemke polled in 10 of the Demons’ 16 games to take out the award. He and Lovell cleared out in the count, before Klemke edged ahead. Redfern finished strongly to grab second. Redfern also took out Riverina League’s Rising Star award. Leeton-Whitton’s Jade Hodge was named Coach of the Year.


In the reserve grade count, Griffith’s Royce Johns took home the Frank Gaynor Medal courtesy of a dominant win. Johns polled 35 votes to win by 16.


Griffith’s Isaac Campbell took home the Lou Brown Medal for under 17 best and fairest. He finished with 20 votes, two clear of the fast-finishing Brad McMillan from Collingullie-Glenfield Park.


Mangoplah-Cookardinia United-Eastlakes president David Griffin was named Riverina League’s Volunteer of the Year.