Harris takes out Mulrooney Medal

By Shaun Ebert

Belconnen forward Shane Harris has taken out the NEAFL Eastern Conference’s highest honour the Mulrooney Medal, poling 2 votes in the final round to win.

Harris has been undoubtedly one of the recruits of the year after following teammate Matt Lokan from South Australia to the Nation’s Capital.

In what has sometimes been a disappointing season for the Magpies, Harris has been a shinning light up forward, kicking big bags of goals throughout the season. In 2012, Harris hit the scoreboard regularly with his final tally being an incredible 65 goals.

Going into the final round of votes Both Marcus Crook and Shane Harris were locked on 14 votes, with Will Griggs and Ryan Brabazon close behind on 13, followed by Jarrod Moore and James Kavanagh on 12.

At this point, it was still anyone’s race to win. However, as the votes were read, a 3 vote for Nick Paine from Ainslie took him to the equal lead on 14 with no other leader scoring a vote. That was until the final match of the round, where Shane Harris poled 2 votes in a game that saw him kick 7 goals and named best on ground by his club.

The final leader board was as follows:

16 – Shane Harris – Belconnen

14 – Marcus Crook – Ainslie

14 – Nick Paine – Ainslie

13 – Will Griggs – Queanbeyan

13 – Ryan Brabazon – Eastlake

12 – Jarred Moore – Swans

12 – James Kavanagh – Queanbeyan

The other NEAFL Eastern Conference awards that were presented on the night were:

Leading Goal Kicker – Mitch Morton (77)

Coach of the Year – Kade Klemke – Queanbeyan

NAB Rising Star – Liam Flaherty – Eastlake

Mark of the Year – Marcus Crook – Ainslie

Goal of the Year – Ross Tungatalum – Sydney Hills Eagles

NEAFL Eastern Conference Team of the Year:

B: D Walker, R Jaques, K Klemke

HB: A Bruce, J Bruce, M Crook

C: T Conroy, J Moore, J Moody

HF: K Stevens, J Vlatko, N Paine

F: M Morton, J Kavanagh, S Harris

R: J White, W Griggs, T Ayton

Int: A Lee, M Dragicevic, R Brabazon, R Houlihan, S Horner, M Porter